Writers Theatre Toasts Alexandra and John Nichols






Writers Theatre Artistic Director, Michael Halberstam, presented the Spirit of Writers Theatre Award to Alexandra C. and John D. Nichols at the 25th Anniversary WordPlay Gala recently. Raising over $825,000 for the theater’s administrative and educational programs, the gala featured a musical tribute to Broadway blockbusters with music from Hamilton, Les Miserables, and other hits from the Great White Way.


2017 Spirit of Writers Theatre Award Honorees Alexandra C. and John D. Nichols. Photo by Robert Carl.

The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel seemed the apropos setting: Chicago’s brilliant Jeanne Gang designed both the hotel and the stunning new Writers Theatre Center in Glencoe, which opened last year. The new space has added over 100 new seats and a black-box theater, much-needed as performances often had long waiting lists. Writers Theatre has staged 23 world premieres and has been nominated for 118 Joseph Jefferson Awards.

Named one of the top regional theaters in the nation by the Wall Street Journal, Writers Theatre rapidly became a sold-out success after its founding in 1992.


Writers Theatre Artistic Director, Michael Halberstam, with Kimberlee Herold and guests during the 25th Anniversary Gala cocktail hour. Photo by Joe Mazza.

The Nichols are recognized as leading Chicagoans in many philanthropic endeavors, including dance, music, and theater. Alexandra has served Writers Theatre in many capacities from its earliest days when Michael Halberstam first developed his vision. She has served on the board and as a member of the building committee that carried forward the Studio Gang plan.

The remainder of WT’s 2016-17 season includes The Mystery of Love and Sex, directed by Chicagoan Marti Lyons, now playing, and Parade, which begins its run May 24.


Thys and Kendra Wallace. Photo by Robert Carl.


William and Amalia Mahoney with Patricia Carmen and Jeff Singer. Photo by Robert Carl.


Russ Strobel and his guests enjoy the 25th Anniversary Gala performance, featuring Broadway hit songs. Photo by Joe Mazza.


Judy and Ray McCaskey. Photo by Robert Carl.


Executive Director, Kathryn M. Lipuma; 2017 Spirit of Writers Theatre Award Honorees, John and Alexandra Nichols; 25th Anniversary Gala Co-Chairs, Fran and John Edwardson; and Artistic Director, Michael Halberstam. Photo by Robert Carl.


Joe Berton, Mary Green, Writers Theatre Trustee Sara Cohan, Gloria Groom, and Dan Cohan. Photo by Joe Mazza.


Devin DeSantis, Jonathan Butler-Duplessis, Sharriese Hamilton, Veronica Garza, and Brianna Borger performed with Brian-Alwyn Newland (not pictured) in the 25th Anniversary Gala Broadway Blockbusters tribute. Photo by Joe Mazza.


Kendra Wallace and Tina Trott with Artistic Director, Michael Halberstam. Photo by Joe Mazza.

For more information, visit writerstheatre.org.