The Costume Council’s Most Stylish Men







Who are Chicago’s best-dressed men?

Drawing on the Chicago History Museum’s iconic collection and their own chic closets, the Museum’s Costume Council recently named our town’s ten most fashion-forward men. Co-Chairs Maggie Morgan and John Rogers were a la mode in art deco, the evening’s theme. Celebrity stylist Eric Himel and Fox 32’s Michelle Alegria co-hosted, introducing a fall fashion show presented in collaboration with Saks Fifth Avenue and Room & Board.


Event co-chairs Maggie Morgan and John Rogers.


Co-hosts Eric Himel and Michelle Alegria.


Models pose during the fall highlights fashion show.

Maggie told the 160 guests:

“Chicago is a wonderful landscape for fashion and we are so excited to be giving these 10 Men of Style a recognition on behalf of the Costume Council of the Chicago History Museum. Not many Chicagoans have been exposed to the 50,000-plus collection of historical dress that spans 300 years of fashion, so we were glad to bring awareness to the museum’s rotating exhibitions to build future audiences for appreciation.”


Christopher Theobold, recipient of The Yves Saint Laurent Award of the Costume Council for Bold Style.


Lee Allison, recipient of The Christian Dior Award of the Costume Council for Classic Style.


Shaun Rajah, recipient of The Hubert du Givenchy Award of the Costume Council for Creative Style.

From nominations submitted from across the city, the third-annual event presented three top awards, named for fashion designers whose work is represented in the Museum’s own collection: The Yves Saint Laurent Award for Bold Style was presented to Christopher Theobold, Lee Allison took home the Christian Dior Award for Classic Style, and Shaun Rajah, the Hubert du Givenchy Award for Creative Style. Also tapped for the top ten were Michael Caputo, Andrew Caruso, James Goeke, Siafa Lewis, Darnell Robinson, David Sanchez, and Aaron Shirley.


Darnell Robinson, award recipient.


Peggy Martay and Costume Council President, Courtney Hopkins.


Andrew Caruso, award recipient.


David Mordini and Jerome Fitzgerald.


Darnell Robinson, Pawel Drozda, David Sanchez, and Quenten Schumacher.


Enjoying the evening.


Michael Caputo and Lee Allison.


Mannequins are dressed to impress at Room and Board.


Annette Findling, Marit Bohbot, Judy Lockhart, and Dusty Stemer.


Mary Shearson, Elise Moyer, and Karen Zupko.


Shaun Rajah, Lee Allison, Christopher Theobold, Siafa Lewis, and Darnell Robinson.

Photo credit: Sean Su