Tag: Danielle Bell with her husband

The Zoo Ball Roars In

           Raising a Record $1.5 Million


Leading the Roar were Zoo Ball Co-Chair Mary MacGregor, Lincoln Park Zoo Director and CEO-Elect Megan Ross, Ph.D.; Board Chairman John Mostofi, Women’s Board President Christine Tierney and Zoo Ball Co-Chair Melissa Filkin .





By Megan McKinney


What a marvelous night it was! Forty-four years after the Lincoln Park Zoo invented a delightful new fundraising means for Chicago charities, Zoo  Ball 2021 made $1.5 million. (There was a cash bar in those first few Zoo Balls—once that detail was tweaked, it exploded into the great success it is today).

Proceeds from the evening, themed Roar With the Changes, will be applied toward unrestricted support in keeping the Lincoln Park Zoo free for all throughout the year.

Roaring Red was the color of the evening for Danielle Bell with her husband, Lincoln Park Zoo CEO Emeritus, Kevin Bell and Lincoln Park Zoo Director and CEO-Elect Megan Ross, Ph.D. with Steve Ross.

 Nearly 650 guests enjoyed an evening of creative libations, cuisine, music, and a lively paddle raise.

A robust paddle raise is great for the bottom line.

Following the cocktail reception, a multi-course dinner, prepared by Jewell Events Catering, was served and an eclectic mix of tunes  played by celebrity DJ Madrid Perry.

Guests also were granted first peek at the Pepper Family Wildlife Center, a state-of-the-art lion habitat opening to the public on October 14.

Here are some of the evening’s major players–and more.

Maureen Maher, the evening’s emcee

Lincoln Park Zoo Director and CEO-Elect Megan Ross, Ph.D. with Steve Ross

Women’s Board President Christine Tierney with Jeffrey Jordt

Zoo Ball 2021 co-chair Melissa Filkin with Adam Filkin

Co-chair Mary MacGregor with Scott MacGregor

Mary O’Brien Pearlman and  Greg Pearlman

Nichole Rodi and John Rodi

Stephanie Beiser, Kerri McClimen, Alyson Nash, Pat Nash, Penny O’Neil and Patrick O’Neil

Jack Maher, Marie Hollister, Brenden Maher and Katie Maher

Meg Gilbert, Colleen Mansell and Courtney Eber

Tina DeNard, Ronald DeNard , Sean Garrett and Emily Garrett

Hurry back next year.


Photo Credit: John Reilly Photography and Kyle Flubacker

Edited by Amanda K. O’Brien

Author Photo: Robert F. Carl