Glamour at the Breakthrough Ball





Almost $1.5 million in new seed funding, brought about by the University of Chicago’s Cancer Research Foundation Women’s Board bewitching Breakthrough Ball, will go to cutting edge projects at the Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center.


Co-Chair Elizabeth Ryan; Board President, Kristi Nuelle; and Co-chair Kand Karen McEniry.

President, Kristi Nuelle, and co-chairs of the 51st annual gala, Karen Riley McEniry and Elizabeth Dunkle Ryan, welcomed guests to the stunning candlelit ballroom of the Four Seasons hotel, decorated in bright tones of pink and orange to celebrate treatments for tomorrow.

Always the most awesome auction impresarios, the board’s enticements included a glorious gold bracelet from Verdura, a shopping spree and one-of-a-kind dining experience at Ralph Lauren, and a luxurious loft party for 50 guests. Grammy award-winner, California singer and songwriter Colbie Caillat, who built her career on social networking, entertained, followed by DJ Megan Taylor.


Eileen Murphy modeling a Verdura bracelet for the live auction.


Colbie Caillat.


Guests Dancing to DJ Megan Taylor.

Kristi noted:

“The Women’s Board is committed to funding early stage innovative work in cancer research. Being able to support the researchers at the University of Chicago is putting the funds we raise to work in the best possible way.

Joan and Paul Rubschlager received the Partners in Discovery Award for their friendship to the Women’s Board and their commitment to cancer research at the University of Chicago.”


Paul and Joan Rubschlager.


Robert and Marta Bonner with Sandy and Gary Fencik.


Diane Reilly, Beth Eugenio, and Karen Slimmon.


Joanne Schell.


Mary Conrad and Richard Almeida.


Cindy and Ben Chereskin.


Michael and Susan Canmann.


Tom Smithburg, Heather Webster, and Lawrence Ryan.


Elizabeth Cole, Eileen Murphy, and Shawna Owen.


Anne and Will Hokin.


Annie Barlow and Wells Ryan.


Annemette Clausen, Elizabeth Luttig, and Annette Carroll.


Mary Ellen Connellan, Elizabeth Ryan (co-chair), Dr. Michelle Le Beau, Karen McEniry (co-chair), and Kristi Nuelle.


David and Jennifer Rhind.


Jackie Bucksbaum.


John Fornengo, Jessica LaGrange, and Danny Dolan.


Shanette Caywood and Bertha Davis.


Diane Thomas, Karen Slimmon, and Julie Harron.


Julie and Dr. Sam Volchenboum.


Margo Reese and Neelum Amin.


Photo credit: Fig Media