Glam Night at the Brookfield Zoo

Glam Night at the Brookfield Zoo





By Megan McKinney


It was a glorious night in every way, with perfect autumn weather and the spectacular setting of the Brookfield Zoo. The evening was ideal for top brass of the Chicago Zoological Society (CZS) and distinguished guests who turned out to honor Dr. Stuart Strahl, the Society’s outgoing President and CEO. Altogether there were approximately 120 friends, political leaders and colleagues who gathered for a cocktail reception and dinner at the Zoo’s Pavilions to pay respects to CZS’s leader of the past 18 years.


Jim Bramsen, CZS Life Trustee; Honoree Dr. Stuart D. Strahl and Betsy Bramsen, CZS Vice Chair

 CZS Board ChairCherryl Thomas, right,  with President of the Cook County Board Toni Preckwinkle

CZS Trustee James Bryan, CZS Women’s Board Member Ann Grube and CZS Vice Board Chairman John Grube

 CZS Women’s Board Members Esther Bryan and Melissa Canning

Michael Emmert CZS Treasurer; and Randy Vicker, Society Secretary

 Kelley Schueler, CZS Vice Chair; Heidi Hulzenga, Society Trustee; and Doris Christopher, Governing Member Ambassador

Susie Getz and CZS Vice Chair Bert Getz

 Women’s Board Member Jennifer Popish and Dean Popish

 CZS Trustee Veronica Gomez and Jeff Bushofsky with a tamandua 

CZS Curator Glenn Granat, holding a ball python, and Benita Romano, CZS Trustee

 CZS Trustee Kevin Killips and Cindy Killips with a Brookfield Zoo reindeer

Nancy Tameling, CZS Governing Member Ambassador and Glenn Granat, returning with the ball python

Women’s Board Members Vicki DeMar and Roxann Giovannini

Trustee Dr. Bonny Chen and Jim Olguin

 Jon and Nancy Hamill

Emily and Robert King

 Arnold Randall, General Superintendent of the Forest Preserves of Cook County; Kevin Morrison, Cook  County Commissioner; Cherryl Thomas, CZS Board Chair; Honoree Dr. Stuart Strahl; Emanuel “Chris” Welch, Speaker of the Illinois House  of Representatives; Toni Preckwinkle, President of the Cook County Board; Mike Zalewski, Illinois State Representative and Frank Aquilar, Cook County Commissioner.

Emanuel “Chris” Welch, Speaker of the Illinois House  of Representatives and Cherryl Thomas, CZS Board Chair

 Sandy Manne, CZS Governing Member Ambassador, Dr. Strahl and Jerry Manne, CZS Trustee

CZS Governing Member Ambassador Hall Healy and CZS Governing Life Member Nancy Hamill Winter  

Illinois State Representative Mike Zalewski and Emanuel “Chris” Welch, Speaker of the Illinois House  of Representatives, present Dr. Strahl with Illinois House Resolution 187, which celebrates his career achievements

 John Grube, Cherryl Thomas, Dr. Strahl and Bill Kunkler, CZS Deputy Chair

Nancy Hamill and Heidi Huizenga, CZS Trustee

Barbara Bradford, CZS Trustee and Women’s Board Member, with Women’s Board Member Esther Bryan

Dean Popish and Women’s Board Members Jennifer Popish and Melissa Canning with CZS Trustee Michael Canning


Photography by Jim Schulz, Chicago Zoological Society

Edited by Amanda K. O’Brien