Frank Lloyd Wright and Fashion


Jil Sander Celebrates Architect’s 150 Years



Xinyi (Teresa) Lin with her Second-Place winning design.

Students from the Fashion Design Department of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago were recognized at the Jil Sander Showroom on Oak Street during an evening of shopping to benefit the Frank Lloyd Wright Trust, a nonprofit organization dedicated to preservation and interpretation of Wright’s design legacy.

More than 80 guests sipped wine and enjoyed hors d’oeuvres as they admired renderings by 10 winners and finalists in the Wright 150 Fashion Design Awards inspired by Wright’s Frederick C. Robie House on the University of Chicago campus.

The contest was held among junior students enrolled in the Fashion Design Department at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, who created design sketches after visiting the Robie House. A panel comprising leadership from the Frank Lloyd Wright Trust, Chicago History Museum and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago Fashion Design Department chose the winning designs.


A long coat designed by First-Place winner Hana Chang was displayed in the Jil Sander showroom window.  

Robert Miller,  Vice- Chair and Chair, Executive Committee, Frank Lloyd Wright Trust; Celeste Adams, President and CEO, Frank Lloyd Wright Trust; Petra Sinkard, Curator of Costumes, Chicago History Museum and Ryan Pfefferkorn.


Lise Dube-Scherr, Director of the  Richard H. Driehaus Museum, Nico Camargo and Erika Vargas, Store Manager, Jil Sander Chicago.

Robert Miller and Elissa Terry, President  of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Victoria Gonzalez and Marcelo Boffi, Deputy Consul, Consulate General of the Argentine Republic in Chicago.

Anke Loh, Associate Professor of Fashion Design, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Gillian Carrera and Cody Vowell, Regional Visual Merchandiser at Max Mara.

David Robinson, Manager/Photographer/Buyer at Saint Alfred L.L.C. and Rob Moman.

Haeng Soo Lee, Kelley O’Brien, Hana Chang, Ching Yeh and Mac Kim.

Hana Chang, Abigail Maria Galum-Lathbury, Ching Yeh, Scarlet Le, Kelley O’Brien, Xinyi (Teresa) Lin and Tianna Liu.  

Victoria Gonalez with Marcelo Boffi and Feather MaGee.

Erika Vargas  and friend.

Rachel Fusco of Jil Sander Chicago and Duke Miglin.

Abigail Glaum-Lathbury, Assistant Professor, Fashion Design, School of the Art Institute of Chicago with Xinyi (Teresa) Lin.


Photos Courtesy Frank Lloyd Wright Trust. ©2017

Michael Moenning Photography- Northlight Studio, Inc.