Chicago Yacht Club New Year’s Eve 2017



The glamorous Chicago Yacht Club was the place to be for New Year’s Eve 2017. The Club was decked out in full holiday splendor with festive Christmas trees, twinkling lights, fragrant wreaths, and chic decor showcasing historical sailing awards, trophies, and the legendary Commodore’s wall—everyone in attendance felt like they were standing next to generations of Chicago, sailing, and Chicago Yacht Club history.

Guests enjoyed cocktails, caviar, ice sculptures, and an extravagant selection of seafood, and later treated to a sumptuous buffet dinner, which included rack of lamb, venison, and rabbit.


Delicious desserts present among impressive awards.


Festive table settings.

Wonderfully decorated tables with old Hollywood glamour had elegant satin tablecloths, classic china, and old world crystal, as candlelight filled the room. As a special treat, each place setting included festive party hats for men and tiaras for women.


Fireworks over the lake.

At the stroke of midnight, all enjoyed the magical fireworks displayed over Navy Pier, seen through the magnificent windows of the Chicago Yacht Club. The band played an array of favorite dance songs, including, of course, the perennial New Year’s Eve song Auld Lang Syne, the traditional song for ringing in the New Year in almost every English-speaking country in the world.

This grand party, like the song, celebrates long friendships (and festive drinks!) with memories from long ago.


Bud Hendrick, Jim Kinney, Kipper Lance, and Brian White.


Heather and Andy Wright.


Liz Sharp, Rodger Owen, and Cynthia Olson.

Guests included Brian D. White and James M. Kinney, Karen Zupko and Mike McCahon, Kipper Lance and Bud Hendrick, Liza Yntema, Jetta Boschen, Peggy Snorf, Heather and Andy Wright, Cynthia Olson, John and Kathy Cook, Liz and Jeff Sharp, Peter C. Mark, Pauline and Neil Sheehan, Leslie and Bob Zentner, Oona Carroll, Todd Schwebel and William Beggs, Lisa and Cary Malkin, Steve Smith, Janet and Rodger Owen, and Nancy Ford.


William Beggs and Peter Mark.


Neil and Pauline Sheehan.


Jeff Sharp and Todd Schwebel.


Kipper Lance and Bud Hendrick.